10.03.2019 - Round 1 results of our "A Love Letter For FreeBASIC" game dev competition have been published. Please be sure to check the results thread: http://games.freebasic.net/forum/index.php?topic=629.0. Don't forget that the competition is continuing with a round 2, lasting till 29th of April, 300 USD first prize. Stay tuned!

Author Topic: how would i make a window from scratch in FB  (Read 5211 times)

neo

  • Novice
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
    • Email
how would i make a window from scratch in FB
« on: March 29, 2013, 04:14:51 PM »
how would i make a window from scratch in FB  ?
IF you can make a game that's cool and fun....
in time you may have a good job in time ......

its like at the end of doom 2 what do i have to kill next lol put code in my brain and i will think mmmm css rocks

BadMrBox

  • Forum Sage
  • *****
  • Posts: 411
    • View Profile
    • BadMrBox.com
Re: how would i make a window from scratch in FB
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2013, 06:37:28 PM »
What do you mean exactly?

neo

  • Novice
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how would i make a window from scratch in FB
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2013, 07:52:09 PM »


well take a look what i have now

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ToYaPQYmhNE&feature=youtu.be

watch in 720p or looks like crap ...
IF you can make a game that's cool and fun....
in time you may have a good job in time ......

its like at the end of doom 2 what do i have to kill next lol put code in my brain and i will think mmmm css rocks

BadMrBox

  • Forum Sage
  • *****
  • Posts: 411
    • View Profile
    • BadMrBox.com
Re: how would i make a window from scratch in FB
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2013, 02:42:43 AM »
Oh, I see. I have never dwelled into the matter myself so I cant really help.
I did however find this on FB's forum http://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2861&p=21649&hilit=+fbgx#p21649
I'm unable to test the example myself as I dont have SDL installed. Check it out. It might help you.

ecxjoe

  • Novice
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Delta Code
Re: how would i make a window from scratch in FB
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2013, 09:06:02 PM »
You've asked a very broad question. What do you want your window to do? Do you want a basic container or something more feature-rich?

It looks like you have most of the functionality there already, with the buttons and start bar. In a Windows program, everything is a window -- buttons and input boxes are just subsets of windows. This makes sense, because they share many of the same properties: location, size, events, etc. So a "window" contains windows that contain windows, and so on. I'd suggest going with this approach. So a window would have the basic properties -- location, size -- and a list of sub-windows (buttons, input-boxes, more windows). When rendering, you cascade down this pyramid of windows.

neo

  • Novice
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how would i make a window from scratch in FB
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2013, 07:04:09 PM »
ps if u know any who wishes to add programs to this interface let me know ?
IF you can make a game that's cool and fun....
in time you may have a good job in time ......

its like at the end of doom 2 what do i have to kill next lol put code in my brain and i will think mmmm css rocks

neo

  • Novice
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how would i make a window from scratch in FB
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2014, 01:06:42 PM »
i think i got the window to work
IF you can make a game that's cool and fun....
in time you may have a good job in time ......

its like at the end of doom 2 what do i have to kill next lol put code in my brain and i will think mmmm css rocks

neo

  • Novice
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how would i make a window from scratch in FB
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2014, 07:13:30 AM »
if i had program 1 running and 1 runs 2 but dont want to close 1
how do i do this ?
IF you can make a game that's cool and fun....
in time you may have a good job in time ......

its like at the end of doom 2 what do i have to kill next lol put code in my brain and i will think mmmm css rocks

neo

  • Novice
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: how would i make a window from scratch in FB
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2014, 11:09:09 AM »
i have the starting to the window done now it works well
now i have to make the file menu soon for the windows or box ...
IF you can make a game that's cool and fun....
in time you may have a good job in time ......

its like at the end of doom 2 what do i have to kill next lol put code in my brain and i will think mmmm css rocks