10.03.2019 - Round 1 results of our "A Love Letter For FreeBASIC" game dev competition have been published. Please be sure to check the results thread: http://games.freebasic.net/forum/index.php?topic=629.0. Don't forget that the competition is continuing with a round 2, lasting till 29th of April, 300 USD first prize. Stay tuned!

Poll

Which entry in the competition do you consider the best?

Invasion of the Mononites!
4 (28.6%)
RACESII
3 (21.4%)
Y.A.G.A.C.
5 (35.7%)
Color Eater 3D
2 (14.3%)

Total Members Voted: 14

Voting closed: February 12, 2012, 10:44:07 AM

Author Topic: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll  (Read 17144 times)

dafhi

  • Amoeba
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #30 on: February 12, 2012, 11:46:31 AM »
hi Landeel.  "Level 1 Start"

If it's a Load issue, at least have a message "Loading" then "Ready", or simply just start
« Last Edit: February 12, 2012, 11:57:07 AM by dafhi »

landeel

  • Forum Howler
  • ****
  • Posts: 102
  • http://cmcgames.blogspot.com
    • View Profile
    • CMC Games
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #31 on: February 12, 2012, 12:12:01 PM »
I see... But in the systems I've tested, it loads really fast.
Sometimes it wouldn't even give people time to read the "Loading" message.
Maybe a spinning wheel will do the job.

dafhi

  • Amoeba
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #32 on: February 12, 2012, 01:57:36 PM »
o.o

For me it sits there until I press something

landeel

  • Forum Howler
  • ****
  • Posts: 102
  • http://cmcgames.blogspot.com
    • View Profile
    • CMC Games
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #33 on: February 12, 2012, 02:25:26 PM »
Yeah, I mean the time when it's frozen loading, and it won't start even if you press something is very short.

SMC

  • Recruit
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • 9999HP
    • View Profile
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #34 on: February 12, 2012, 03:08:12 PM »
Try turning off full screen and pick a fixed resolution by altering yagac.conf

Nope, still nothing.

landeel

  • Forum Howler
  • ****
  • Posts: 102
  • http://cmcgames.blogspot.com
    • View Profile
    • CMC Games
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #35 on: February 12, 2012, 03:17:42 PM »
Can you run it from cmd to see if it outputs any useful message?

SMC

  • Recruit
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • 9999HP
    • View Profile
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #36 on: February 12, 2012, 09:46:20 PM »
It doesn't say anything.  After running the exe it begins the process of loading off my hard drive then the error message pops up.  It definitely acts like a video card issue, but without any kind of runtime error checking there is no way to know for sure.

StefanPN

  • Recruit
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Stefan Kostić
    • MSN Messenger - stefanpn@live.com
    • View Profile
    • www.stefanpn.co.nr
    • Email
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #37 on: February 13, 2012, 02:21:47 PM »
On my laptop there is Intel GMA950 256MB which is OpenGL 1.4 an it runs Y.A.G.A.C very good, however on desktop machine there is ATI Radeon 9250 128MB which is also OpenGL 1.4 and it crashes, so it must be something else...

landeel

  • Forum Howler
  • ****
  • Posts: 102
  • http://cmcgames.blogspot.com
    • View Profile
    • CMC Games
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #38 on: February 13, 2012, 03:39:45 PM »
Open yagac.bas

uncomment this:
Code: [Select]
'#define _osgl_debug_
comment this:
Code: [Select]
#define _osgl_nodebug_
compile with fbc -exx yagac.bas

run it and let's see if it will output something useful.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2012, 03:40:59 PM by landeel »

SMC

  • Recruit
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • 9999HP
    • View Profile
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #39 on: February 13, 2012, 11:24:18 PM »
Well hell, it runs fine in debug mode.  Although things do slow down a lot when you grab one of the little thingies and the tone sounds.  I had a bunch of stuff open when I tried it though.  What version of fbpng were you using?  I compiled it with and older version (fbpng_v1_9_4).  I'll try it again tomorrow with the latest version.  Great game by-the-way. :)

landeel

  • Forum Howler
  • ****
  • Posts: 102
  • http://cmcgames.blogspot.com
    • View Profile
    • CMC Games
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #40 on: February 14, 2012, 04:15:41 PM »
I had it compiled with the latest fbpng.
Also, I have compressed it with UPX, maybe that's the cause.
Can you download UPX and test?
http://upx.sourceforge.net/

SMC

  • Recruit
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • 9999HP
    • View Profile
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #41 on: February 14, 2012, 07:12:41 PM »
I compiled it again with the latest fbpng and without debug.  It works fine.  I downloaded UPX.   What command options did you use?  It's just for compressing the exec itself right, not the whole folder?

landeel

  • Forum Howler
  • ****
  • Posts: 102
  • http://cmcgames.blogspot.com
    • View Profile
    • CMC Games
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #42 on: February 16, 2012, 05:15:39 AM »
I have compressed it with
Quote
upx -9 yagac.exe

Hm, there´s another possibility. Maybe your processor doesn´t support SSE2.
Try compiling with
Quote
fbc -fpu sse -fpmode fast yagac.bas

SMC

  • Recruit
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • 9999HP
    • View Profile
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #43 on: February 16, 2012, 07:29:12 PM »
I never got around to trying UPX, but it definitely doesn't support SSE2.  If that was part of the original build then I think it was probably the culprit since that new build did the same thing as the original.  Looks like we found it.   8)

landeel

  • Forum Howler
  • ****
  • Posts: 102
  • http://cmcgames.blogspot.com
    • View Profile
    • CMC Games
Re: Rescue The Colors Competition Community Poll
« Reply #44 on: February 17, 2012, 06:43:29 AM »
Good, I will add this info to the readme.