gfxgfxFreeBASIC Games Directory Forumgfxgfx
gfx gfx
gfx
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. May 28, 2017, 02:28:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length
14.09.2014 - Check the results of our latest game dev competition here: http://games.freebasic.net/forum/index.php?topic=606.0
gfx
gfx
*
gfxgfx
gfxgfx gfxgfx
gfxgfx Home Help Search Login Register   gfxgfx
gfx gfx
gfx
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
Print
Author Topic: Galactic Empire - 1.05 released!  (Read 33906 times)
AlZe
Novice
***
Posts: 67


View Profile
« on: July 23, 2008, 12:01:58 AM »



Name: Galactic Empire
Type: 4X
Resolution: all available
Library used: SFML
Current Version: 1.05

Overview
Space exploration has split mankind into different factions each venturing out in space and creating their own colonies.
As the leader of one these factions it is your destiny to guide your people at exploring and conquering the known universe.
Find ancient artifacts to aid your goal and defeat all those who stand in your way.
It's your turn to create a Galactic Empire!

Download
1.05 Download @ FFH (~15MB, 02 March 2009)

1.0 Final Screenshots

Skirmish menu: here you can set some parameters for the randomly generated map


Research window: there 3 different researches, each with 3 levels


Diplomacy window: shows some info about each player and you can send them money to raise their alignment towards you


Standard view: typical view where you command your fleets around the map


Zoomed out view: usable for an overview of all starsystems
« Last Edit: March 02, 2009, 01:22:54 AM by AlZe » Logged
Lachie Dazdarian
Double dipper
Administrator
Forum Sage
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1255


lachie13
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2008, 04:24:31 PM »

This seems like a very cool, but simple concept. Not sure how much there is challenege value. Will play it more later. BTW, I get 60 FPS. What are you doing to make it so demanding? Is this pure fbgfx? Anyway, the game should be easy to code in time-based mode, if it isn't already.

Anyway, what upgrades are you planning? This is WIP?
Logged

"Things like Basic and Free Basic provide much-needed therapy and a return to sanity and a correct appreciation of people. The arrogant folk really hate a word like 'Basic' - fine, and good riddance." ~ pragmatist
AlZe
Novice
***
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2008, 01:49:52 AM »

Well I use the rotozoom function of fbext to scale the planets and rotate the ships and this function is pretty demanding.
The reason why it's so slow is that I newly scale and rotate everything each frame which is totally unnecessary as planets don't change their size during the game.. so I have to change that and it should be way faster Smiley

It's in WIP because there is a known bug I couldn't get rid off yet (on rare occasions a planet can't send a fleet) and I'd like to improve the graphics.

I'm not sure how good my method is but the way I do timing is as in this example:
dim as single animation_timer

if timer > (animation_timer + .1) then      ' update every 100ms
...
end if

works very well in my opinion, fast machines are capped and on slower machines the game will run slower and not stutter
Logged
hd_
Recruit
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2008, 02:18:18 AM »

It would be nice that when I win, I am rewarded with a method to quit other than ctrl+alt+delete Smiley

It ran at 10/11 fps on my pc Tongue Get it working more efficiently please Smiley

You should include screenshots in the first post. Also, separate your bugs and feature list, because it sounded like 'aritfacts' referred to graphical glitches Tongue


Pretty fun actually, nice work Wink

(wow, I finished every setence with a smiley :O)
Logged
AlZe
Novice
***
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2008, 06:56:26 AM »

Alright, I made a new version which gives me about 800fps, fast enough  Smiley

hd_: you need to press space, that's what I wrote.. anyway, I changed it so you can press any key now

changelist:
larger map with scrolling + minimap
2 enemies
rewrote code so it's faster

i'm open for ideas to improve the game.. if there's anything you like to see, let me hear it
Logged
hd_
Recruit
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2008, 08:07:15 AM »

I knew you said you could quit, but I assumed it would be the escape key Tongue

bug: Select your planet then tell give the order to go the the same planet- locks the planet up.
bug: Although the planets are green, sometimes enemies have green planets (there are no numbers on them).
bug: Minimap selection doesn't let you scroll to the bottom of the screen? Also, pressing on the minimap unselects your selection.


Very good work so far Smiley
Logged
AlZe
Novice
***
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2008, 03:28:24 PM »

I knew you said you could quit, but I assumed it would be the escape key Tongue

bug: Select your planet then tell give the order to go the the same planet- locks the planet up.
bug: Although the planets are green, sometimes enemies have green planets (there are no numbers on them).
bug: Minimap selection doesn't let you scroll to the bottom of the screen? Also, pressing on the minimap unselects your selection.


Very good work so far Smiley

thx for the feedback, I fixed all the bugs, will upload the new version tomorrow  Smiley
i also added a ship range limit which changes the strategy significantly in late game
and of course a new artifact which increases the ship range when found

good night
Logged
Lachie Dazdarian
Double dipper
Administrator
Forum Sage
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1255


lachie13
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2008, 03:33:30 PM »

Hrm, didn't find any of these bugs. But I would like to see some doc on the gameplay mechanics. Opponent ships seem too move much faster than mine. Is this on purpose? Maybe it depends on the planets they are comming from. And what those planets with stars mean?

BTW, you do plan to add a menu or maybe a title screen. High scores?
Logged

"Things like Basic and Free Basic provide much-needed therapy and a return to sanity and a correct appreciation of people. The arrogant folk really hate a word like 'Basic' - fine, and good riddance." ~ pragmatist
AlZe
Novice
***
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2008, 03:46:44 PM »

Hrm, didn't find any of these bugs. But I would like to see some doc on the gameplay mechanics. Opponent ships seem too move much faster than mine. Is this on purpose? Maybe it depends on the planets they are comming from. And what those planets with stars mean?

BTW, you do plan to add a menu or maybe a title screen. High scores?

sorry, I should make it a habit posting more info about game mechanics Wink

the speed of the ships depends on their size which you can regulate with your mousewheel..
let's say you have a planet with 100 population and a fleet size of 25% then your fleet will have 25 "attack points" and move relatively fast
the larger the fleet the slower it gets
i set the computer opponents to use random fleet sizes each team they send a fleet so the computer fleets will have all kinds of different speeds

planets with stars have an artifact, there are 5 of them and each gives you a bonus if you own the planet:
+10% Population cap
+10% Ship speed
+10% Population grow
+10% Ship damage
+10% Ship range

once you have discovered an artifact you will know where it is, even when an opponent captures the planet with the artifact again

i guess i will add a menu and title screen at some point. any suggestion on how the score should be measured?
Logged
hd_
Recruit
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2008, 04:17:26 AM »

I like the range limiter, definitely a good addition Smiley


bug: you are taking popultion away from the planets BOTH when you send and land on the other planets.

suggestion: ability to increase enemy activity/difficulty/stats. The game is fairly easy to win atm, but it would be fun to be allowed to surround the enemy, then increase their difficulty Tongue
Logged
AlZe
Novice
***
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2008, 04:41:24 AM »

I like the range limiter, definitely a good addition Smiley


bug: you are taking popultion away from the planets BOTH when you send and land on the other planets.

suggestion: ability to increase enemy activity/difficulty/stats. The game is fairly easy to win atm, but it would be fun to be allowed to surround the enemy, then increase their difficulty Tongue

can you explain the bug in more detail, i don't quite understand.
Logged
hd_
Recruit
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2008, 04:57:10 AM »

The number on the planet goes down when you send a ship to another planet. When the ship arrives at the other planet, the original planets population goes down again. This also occured in the other versions it seems. Seems like a bug to me, unless it's the intended behaviour?
Logged
AlZe
Novice
***
Posts: 67


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2008, 05:05:55 AM »

holy shit, no it's not! i fixed it, thx  Smiley
Logged
Lachie Dazdarian
Double dipper
Administrator
Forum Sage
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1255


lachie13
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2008, 07:06:14 AM »

Damn, I didn't notice that. I'm loosing my touch.
Logged

"Things like Basic and Free Basic provide much-needed therapy and a return to sanity and a correct appreciation of people. The arrogant folk really hate a word like 'Basic' - fine, and good riddance." ~ pragmatist
hd_
Recruit
**
Posts: 35


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2008, 08:39:13 AM »

Yeah, I thought it only took away once they landed in the other versions, but I missed it there as well.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Cerberus design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
gfx
gfxgfx gfxgfx